- Concealed Handgun License Classes are scheduled for Austin and surrounding areas on the fourth Saturday of each month, starting at 7:30am. Class size is 20 in order to maximize range safety.
Provided in Class:
- Training materials and multimedia presentations
- Applications are completed on line at DPS web site
- Assistance with all required paperwork
- Fingerprinting is completed with L1 at DPS for $10
- 2 Passport ID photographs
- CHL Class Fee: $85 for new applicants all applicants for classroom and range fees. Students are responsible to bring their handguns and 50 rounds of ammunition
- Texas DPS License Fee: $140 . (paid directly to TXDPS). Some discounts are available through DPS.
- There is a $25 deposit to reserve a place in the class. Send payments to Larry Joslin, PO Box 170007, Austin, TX 78717
CHL Training Subjects:
- Introduction to the course
- Concealed Handgun License requirements and restrictions
- Working lunch (bring your own lunch if you wish).
- Range safety, basic marksmanship, handgun use, and evaluation
- Handgun proficiency
- Weapon storage, safety practice, child safety and proper handgun cleaning
- Non-violent dispute resolution
- Final Exam and Certification
- Classes held at 201 Sonny Dr. in Leander, TX. (View map)
- Range qualification held at Eagle Peak Shooting Range, 20026 Lindeman Ln., Leander, TX (View map)
Larry Joslin is a retired USAF Sgt with 30 years experience in weapon use. His membership in the Texas Concealed Handgun Instructors Association provides him with the most up to date information for his classes. With his law enforcement background he has the knowledge to give excellent counsel to all of his students and has done so since 1996.